Inhalt

zur Navigation

'69  Aug 15, 15:36

Scotty Sandford (NZL, shore team) is well known for putting in long, hard days for our team. He is a versatile, competent, can-do man if ever there was one. And apparently Scotty is nocturnally talented as well, as today we received this email:

"Scotty had a brilliant performance in Kiel Friday night when the band called him on stage, and he performed "Summer of 69" with them. I took some pics with my mobile, but then it broke down. Now the mobile is repaired and the pics are still there! Pls find attached."

With thanks to our cellphone snapper, who wishes to remain anonymous....


Scotty1_bmwPreview
"I got my first real six-string. Bought it at the five-and-dime. Played it till my fingers bled. It was the summer of '69...."


Scotty2_bmwPreview
"Ain't no use in complainin'. When you got a job to do. Spent my evenin's down at the drive-in. Laurent, that's when I met you...."


Scotty3_bmwPreview
"Standin' on your mama's porch. You told me it would last forever. Oh the way you held my hand. I knew that it was now or never. Those were the best days of my life....Back in the summer of '69."


bryanadams85901Unlike Scotty, a few of us on the team are old enough to remember '69, and with fond memories. (Get your minds out of the gutter -- it's was cool watching them land on the moon.)

Regardless, nice work, Scotty, but please don't give up your day job -- at least not for another eleven months or so. Meanwhile, maybe we can hook you up with Pedro next time he rocks on in Cabanyal.Marilyn-Manson

By the way, since the summer of '69 fully one third (11) of the 32 America's Cup defenses have taken place.

["Summer of '69" lyrics by Bryan Adams. However, for reasons that will be obvious only to Jane Eagleson, this blog post is dedicated to Marilyn Manson.]