Inhalt

zur Navigation

FLATMATE  Jun 27, 21:03

For me writing is not a huge struggle, but I do have to work at it. For Ivor Wilkins (NZL) it just seems to flow out of his fingers at speed, and with dignity and grace -- like a well-balanced AC yacht moving through the water?

OK, so much for my silly similes; that's why he's the journalist and I'm a bloody blogger!

Ivor was my flatmate these past two weeks while he helped the team, especially our p.r. manager Jane "U2" Eagleson, with the heavy writing load these regattas entail. Under Janey's watchful eye, Ivor produced most of our press releases and the excellent stories on the team website.

Via the Cup we have been acquainted for more years than either of us care to admit, and in that time I seem to recall an unflattering article or two about your humble blog editor, tho they were probably well-deserved at the time. Regardless, it was good to get to know him better during Acts 4 and 5. Ivor not only aided Jane, but was a big help in proofing these blog posts at all hours of the night and day, and I do mean all hours, for which I am grateful.

Today we put Ivor on the plane back to his beloved Auckland, and look forward to having him with us again in Malmoe.

ivor
One last early-morning coffee today with veteran Cup journalist Ivor
Wilkins, who has helped keep this blog from being too inane, or insane,
these past two weeks.